RSS

First Slow Cooker Meal… Ever!

27 Feb

Yes, I have to admit I’m 23 and I have not yet invested in a slow cooker. My roommates luckily have one that I’m borrowing tonight. Ironically, when I came across this recipe they were having a contest on the website and giving away a really nice crockpot – I’m really hoping I win it so I can continue to make crockpot meals.

I found a recipe for BBQ Apricot Pulled Chicken and I couldn’t resist trying it out. I’m home sick for the day, and my boyfriend is taking a gamble and letting me cook something on my own. He is the cook between us, and I have a blog titled “failedcooking” for a reason. So let’s hope I’ve learned enough from him to not screw this up. I can’t let him down, especially if I ever want to become the stay-at-home housewife.

This recipe is pretty simple, as long as you know how to cut onions and measure out ingredients you will be just fine!

I also made up some of Bobby Flay’s Creamy Coleslaw to put on top of the pulled chicken. It should be a delicious combo. I have never had pulled chicken before, so I am hoping it will turn out!

…And he liked it! I was successful in creating my first slow cooker dish for my honey and it was pretty darn delicious. We usually eat spicy foods, but it was a nice change to have something sweeter.

I also made a salad with craisins, toasted walnuts, feta cheese, and raspberry vinaigrette dressing. That has to be my favorite salad ever!

Let’s just say I will be eating leftovers for a few days!

Thanks for following my blog!

20130227-192453.jpg

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 27, 2013 in Dinner

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “First Slow Cooker Meal… Ever!

  1. Jad @ New South

    February 27, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    “This recipe is pretty simple, as long as you know how to cut onions and measure out ingredients you will be just fine!” HAHA Love It!

    The recipe is quite simple and everything, even the sauce, is prepared in the crock pot. Let me know if I can simplify the directions in any way.

     

Leave a Reply

 
